Man Knows Not His Time

For several reasons my attention has been drawn to the fleeting and uncertain nature of life in this world.  I came across this quotation from a secular writer (Sports and Crime Fiction) the other day and thought I would pass it on.

 

For most of us, death will not announce itself with a blare of trumpets or a roar of cannons. It will come silently, on the soft paws of a cat. It will insinuate itself, rubbing against our ankle in the midst of an ordinary moment. An uneventful dinner. A drive home from work. A sofa pushed across a floor. A slight bend to retrieve a morning newspaper tossed into a bush. And then, a faint cry, an exhale of breath, a muffled slump.

Pat Jordan, “A Ridiculous Will”

2 responses to “Man Knows Not His Time

  • mariep

    Wow…great quote!

    I couldn’t help but think of an Emily Dickinson poem:

    I heard a fly buzz when I died;
    The stillness round my form
    Was like the stillness in the air
    Between the heaves of storm.

    The eyes beside had wrung them dry,
    And breaths were gathering sure
    For that last onset, when the king
    Be witnessed in his power.

    I willed my keepsakes, signed away
    What portion of me I
    Could make assignable,—and then
    There interposed a fly,

    With blue, uncertain, stumbling buzz,
    Between the light and me;
    And then the windows failed, and then
    I could not see to see.

  • Death, Taxes, and the Unexamined Life | Don Johnson Evangelistic Ministries

    […] day coming, and I’m not so confident that everyone will be ready for that, especially since man knows not his time. It is imperative that we be prepared for death. The first step is to submit to thinking about […]

Leave a Reply

