It Ain’t Over When It’s Over

Apologies to the great Yogi Berra who said, “It ain’t over till it’s over.”  

We live at a time that highly prizes the instaneous.   There are new commericals advertising the speed of cellular service that mock the poor guy who gets the latest news 10 second after everyone else.  What a loser!    We want to know and we want to know now!  This mentality can effect us in spiritual things too.  I have often wondered how a sermon has been received based upon the response at the door.   Were people moved?  Did they repent?  Were they comforted?   Were they changed?  Did they get saved?   Did these things take place during the preaching or in the time from the conclusion of the sermon till they met me at the door?  If  so, elation, if not, sorrow and confusion.   Jesus and Paul likened the ministry of the Word to the sowing of  seed.  The response to the word like the growth of a plant.    First the seed, then the bud, then the grain.  it takes time for the seed sown to produce results. 

 I must realize this truth in my prayers.  Too often prayer for a particular message ends when the sermon has concluded.  The work of  the sermon is not over when the sermon is over.  It has just begun.    The seed has been planted.  Now come the watering and the sunshine of the Spirit of  God.  It ain’t over when the Amen is said.

One response to “It Ain’t Over When It’s Over

  • Bob

    So very true. I cannot always recount the outline, let alone the details of a message from the week before. And that’s just the ones I delivered! But concerning the hundreds of good sermons I have had the privelage to hear Lord’s day by Lord’s day I must say that even though I cannot recount the details of those sermons, they have unmistakenly made a lasting impact upon how I think and live my life.

    Perhaps it is this imperceptible but continual molding of my faith that is more valuable to me than any of the isolated “mountop experiences” of a given sermon. And yet for the servant who keeps chipping away methodically at the sculpture I am becoming it must remain something of a mystery as to what good a particular sermon that day has done.

Leave a Reply

