The Place of God’s Glory

Image

If you wanted to show someone the glory of God, what would you do?  Where would you take them?  Someone has described the glory of God as the ‘off shining of His attributes’, that is, those things and places which showcase who He is, what He is, and what He can do.  Where would you go to show someone that God was real, alive, and powerful?   Where would you go to show them God was gracious and wise and kind and abounding in mercy?  That He hates sin and loves righteousness?  If you wanted to show someone that the things which are impossible with men are possible with God, where would you take them?  If money and technology were not an issue for you, what would you do  to show forth the glory of God to a sinner or  saint?

Would you take them to the world’s best telescope to peer into the farthest reaches of the galaxy?  Would you take them inside the womb of a mother where an infant is being knit together?  Would you take them to the Grand Canyonor to the depths of the sea?  Would you take a ‘fantastic voyage’ inside the human body?  Would you seek to unravel the wonder of  His creation?  Would you bring forth evidence of the amazing way that He holds all things together by the word of His power? 

Do you want to know where I would take them?  I would take them to a church.  I would gladly take them to my church.  I wold take them to any place where there is a gathering of God’s elect, chosen before the foundation of the world, loved in time as well as in eternity.  I would have them sit in a service of worship, in which God receives the glory, through Christ Jesus.  I would take them to a place where a group of people sing His praises and hearken to His word.  I would have this person go from saint to saint and hear the wonders of what God, in grace, has done for them.  I would take them to prayer meeting where 21st century people are pouring out their hearts to an unseen God in believing and fervent prayer.  I would take them to the Lord’s Supper where simple saints remember the One whose body and blood was offered for their redemption.   Here is where I would show someone that God is real and holy and merciful, that He loves sinners, and that He hears prayer.    Though very often despised by the world (religious and irreligious) the church will ever remain the showcase of  God’s glory.

4 responses to “The Place of God’s Glory

  • MarieP

    Amen!

    As we sing so often,

    “I love Thy church, O God!
    Her walls before Thee stand
    dear as the apple of Thine eye,
    and graven on Thy hand.

    For her my tears shall fall,
    for her my prayers ascend,
    to her my cares and toils be given,
    till toils and cares shall end.”

    – Timothy Dwight

  • MarieP

    I’ll just post all the verses (including the two that aren’t in our hymnal)-

    I love Thy kingdom, Lord,
    The house of Thine abode,
    The church our blessed Redeemer saved
    With His own precious blood.

    I love Thy church, O God.
    Her walls before Thee stand,
    Dear as the apple of Thine eye,
    And written on Thy hand.

    If e’er to bless Thy sons
    My voice or hands deny,
    These hands let useful skills forsake,
    This voice in silence die.

    Should I with scoffers join
    Her altars to abuse?
    No! Better far my tongue were dumb,
    My hand its skill should lose.

    For her my tears shall fall
    For her my prayers ascend,
    To her my cares and toils be given
    Till toils and cares shall end.

    Beyond my highest joy
    I prize her heavenly ways,
    Her sweet communion, solemn vows,
    Her hymns of love and praise.

    Jesus, Thou friend divine,
    Our Savior and our king,
    Thy hand from every snare and foe
    Shall great deliverance bring.

    Sure as Thy truth shall last,
    To Zion shall be given
    The brightest glories earth can yield
    And brighter bliss of Heaven.

    – Timothy Dwight

  • Bob

    I agree wholeheartedly. And yet with all the splendid facets named in the post I felt a twinge of sadness when I thought that some outside of the Church have not the eyes to see these beauties even up close. May God grant many more souls the sight needed to behold the glory of God in the Church!

  • 3/11/2012 Tell the Glory of God | ForeWords

    […] The Place of God’s Glory (mainthings.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

